Skip to content ↓

Options

The Options Process

Welcome to the Year 9 options page. 

Year 9 students now have the opportunity to choose three subjects that will be studied for the next two years and possibly into Post 16 and university. These decisions are important for your future and you should take advice before you make your decisions.

This booklet gives you the information you need to start the process. Please take time to read it carefully as it explains the process, deadlines and details about your subjects.

Core Subjects

Each student will carry on studying the core curriculum which comprises of English, Mathematics and Science so that students leave school with good literacy, numeracy and scientific skills. To ensure the wider skills needed for adult life are covered in our curriculum, students will continue to study Physical Education, Citizenship (exam taken at the end of Year 11), Religious Education (exam taken at the end of Year 10) and Personal, Social & Health Education (PSHE). Most students will take at least 10 GCSEs, made up of core and options subjects.

Option Subjects

Please see below for links to presentations from our teachers that explain each of the option subjects in detail – please take time to watch these videos. If you have a question that is not covered either in the booklets or video, please use the attached email address to get in contact, or catch up with them in school.

Name

Link

FHS Options Subject: Additional Maths

For further information, please contact Mr Gerrard: pgerrard@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/6Z2tnOtxgmM

FHS Options Subject: Child Development

For further information, please contact Miss Thomas:

Kthomas@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/7yPAx2BkZvU

FHS Options Subject: Classical Civilisations

For further information, please contact Miss Hooke:

rhooke@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/hO8F3g4S40g

FHS Options Subject: Computer Science

For further information, please contact Ms Maljee:

smaljee@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/eK59Rz8gqGs

FHS Options Subject: Dance

For further information, please contact Miss Thompson:

nthompson@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/e5xv6Fl0-hs

FHS Options Subject: Drama

For further information, please contact Miss Ayre:

jayre@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/rE8DIjw9a0M

FHS Options Subject: Engineering Design and Manufacturing

For further information, please contact Mr Morgan:

mmorgan@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/SfyULrPKahU

FHS Options Subject: Fine Art

For further information, please contact Mrs Mortimer:

tmortimer@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/ginhxrplsrg

FHS Options Subject: Food preparation and Nutrition

For further information, please contact Ms Tuffley:

Ktuffley@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/2qsggZM3kQk

FHS Options Subject: Geography

For further information, please contact Mr Roberts:

wroberts@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk or Mr Walker:

rwalker@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/nckIXvwlTxw

FHS Options Subject: Health and Social Care

For further information, please contact Ms Edmunds:

nedmunds@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/_1iwaLjVBPY

FHS Options Subject: History

For further information, please contact Ms Smee:

ksmee@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/al2ReYpmYkA

FHS Options Subject: MFL – Arabic

For further information, please contact Ms Said:

asaid@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/c80kszZqLI8

FHS Options Subject: MFL - French, German & Spanish

For further information, please contact Mr Humphrey:

Nhumphrey@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/oL5OO1sKSoo

FHS Options Subject: Music

For further information, please contact Mr Roderick:

troderick@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/kuwifMN_P9E

FHS Options Subject: Photography

For further information, please contact Miss Cooter:

acooter@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/hla1XBnQXEU

FHS Options Subject: Science

For further information, please contact Mr Mears:

smears@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/L1vx1m1Txto

FHS Options Subject: Sport Science

For further information, please contact Mr Goodchild:

jgoodchild@fairfield.excalibur.org.uk

https://youtu.be/QXy6VM3zSlU

 

 


 

  1. Options Booklet 2020-21

If a parent requires a paper copy of the information on the school's website, please contact us and this will be provided free of charge